Now Reading
Inoyo Toro Foundation Rewards 24 Outstanding Akwa Ibom Teachers with N6.5 million

Inoyo Toro Foundation Rewards 24 Outstanding Akwa Ibom Teachers with N6.5 million


By Ekemini Simon

 24 outstanding teachers from Akwa Ibom State public secondary schools have been rewarded by Inoyo Toro Foundation with cash prizes ranging from N100,000 to N500,000 for their teaching excellence.

The award was bestowed on the teachers at the 15th edition of the Inoyo Toro Foundation annual award for teaching excellence held in Uyo on Friday, November 4, 2022.

The Foundation which is the brainchild of Mr. Udom Inoyo, former Vice Chairman of ExxonMobil Companies in Nigeria, gave awards for best teachers in six subjects across public schools in Akwa Ibom, grand mentor teachers’ award in five subjects and a principal’s award.

The teachers award category had three teachers rewarded in each subject. The third position got N100,000 while the second position received N150,000. The first position was rewarded with a N250,000 cash prize. Hensek Integrated Services Limited sponsored Physics, Chemistry and Biology. Aniekan Ukpana sponsored mathematics, Bodo Services Limited sponsored English Language while Anchor Insurance Limited sponsored Economics.

In Mathematics, Emem Mbat of Asutan Ekpe Comprehensive Secondary School, Okop Ndua Erong, Ibesikpo Asutan emerged third. Utibe Udo of Abiakpo Community Secondary School , Ikot Ukana,Obot Akara emerged second while Idorenyin Solomon, Madonna Community Secondary School, Obo Ntanya, Oruk Anam bagged the first position.

For English Language, Edidiong Ekanem from Ibesikpo Secondary Commercial School, Nung Udoe, Ibesikpo Asutan emerged third while Victor Akpan of Itam Secondary School, Itam Itu emerged second. The first prize winner was Inyene Peter of Saints Comprehensive Secondary School, Ikot Oku Mfang, Abak.

For Physics, Emem Usanga of Unity Model College Obo Ntong, Nsit Ibom emerged third while Victor Emekeka of Comprehensive High School, Ikpe Mbak Eyop, Obot Akara took the second position. Nkamanse Mbat of Asong Community Grammar School, Asong, Mkpat Enin was crowned the winner in this category.

In Biology, Augustina Asuquo of Christian Secondary Commercial School, Uyo took third position while Eno Utioh of Etinan Community Comprehensive Secondary School, Etinan emerged second prize winner. Idorenyin Jacob of Community Secondary School, Afaha Obo, Ukanafun was crowned the overall winner of this category.

 In Chemistry, Enyenekere Owoh of Community Secondary Commercial School , Ikot Ekpeyak Ikono, Uyo emerged third while Unyime Ime of Etinan Institute, Etinan emerged second.

Emmanuel Okon of Methodist Secondary School, Ibiaku Ishiet Uruan was awarded the first prize winner.

In Economics, Akaninyene Akpan of Community Secondary Commercial School, Urua Obo emerged third while Ita Oyong of Comprehensive High School, Urue Offong Oruko took second position.

The first prize went to Kubiat Umo of Community Secondary School, Ikot Usen, Ibiono Ibom.

In another category of award sponsored by Savannah Energy, five teachers received N500,000 cash prize each for winning the Grand Mentor Teachers’ Award.

The five teachers are John Udoh of Secondary Grammar School, Ibeno (English), Ekpedeme Akpan of Government Model Girls Secondary School, Ikot Ekang, Abak (Mathematics), Aniefiok Antia of Itam Secondary School, Itam, Itu (Biology), Akpan Inyang of Community Secondary School, Mkpat Enin (Physics), and Joshua Effiong of Community Secondary Commercial School, Ikot Okubo Offot, Uyo (Chemistry). 

Another Category, the Principal’s Award sponsored by Bassey Ukpong Udo Foundation and the family of Late Simon Etim popularly known as Akpananang had Steve John Akpabio of Christian Secondary Commercial School, Uyo emerge winner with N500,000 cash prize.

According to the Chairman, Screening and Award Committee of the Inoyo Toro Foundation, Enobong Joshua, the winners from all categories were picked from 163 teachers, 11 teacher-mentors and six school principals who applied for the awards via the Inoyo Toro Foundation website.

The Chairman said of these numbers, 153 teachers, 11 teacher-mentors and 5 school principals were invited to participate. 

He explained that only 144 teachers, made up of 27 English Language, 23 Mathematics, 30 Biology, 29 Chemistry, 23 Physics, and 12 Economics teachers, participated in the screening test, which was computer-based, under supervision.

Joshua noted that the response for the 15th edition is low compared to the figures in 2021 and may be primarily due to a lack of exposure to ICT.

See Also

He added ” The final screening test for the selection of the winning teacher is in two parts. The first part is an aptitude test based on the WAEC/NECO curriculum. The second part is an oral interaction between the resource persons and those who pass reasonably well (with not less than 40%) in the written test.

” To strengthen the value of the award, the first, second and third prizes can only be achieved if a contestant scores at least 70%, at least 60%, and at least 50%, respectively, in the results.

“In the Grand Mentor Teachers’ Award category, the mentors must scale through the written test with a score of at least 50%, in addition to their field performance indices, before being considered for the award. Besides, at least one of the mentees of the candidate should be a prize winner in the year. The Grand Mentor award attracts N500,000. This year we have five (5) grand mentors each in Biology, Chemistry, English Language, Mathematics and Physics.”

Responding on behalf of the awardees, Mr. Steve Akpabio who bagged the Principal’s award said he has so far received over 1 Million from the Inoyo Toro Foundation since he started taking part in the award.

He noted that he won the Grand Mentor Award from the foundation in 2013 when he was a teacher.

“Here I am as a principal, I have won it again. We can see this award as our own Nobel Prize. We know that the Nobel Prize is the highest prize an individual can have here on earth”.

The Commissioner for Education, Akwa Ibom State, Mrs. Idongesit Etiebet commended the Foundation for showing teachers that their services are valued.

Represented by the Director, Secondary and Higher Education Dr. Glory Ekpo, the Commissioner said “You have made a tremendous impact. Your effort in showing teachers how valuable they are is complementary to government effort.”

The Commissioner congratulated the awardees and urged them to continue to mentor, stressing that together with the foundation, the government will raise the banner of education in Akwa Ibom State.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :