Now Reading
Obong Attah Emerges Interim Chairman of Akwa Ibom Council of Elders

Obong Attah Emerges Interim Chairman of Akwa Ibom Council of Elders

By Ekemini Simon

An interim leadership has been constituted to run the affairs of Akwa Ibom State Council of Elders. 

The pro tem leadership was constituted on Thursday, February 3, 2022 when the Council held its first meeting of the year in Uyo.

The 4-man interim leadership has Former Governor Victor Attah as Chairman, Chief Moses Essien a former Commissioner as Secretary. Others are Group Captain Mfon Udoh (Rtd) as Financial Secretary while DCG Nathaniel Ubong is the Publicity Secretary.

Addressing newsmen after the Council’s meeting, the Interim Chairman of Council, Obong Victor Attah noted that the Council in session also appointed a 4-man constitution drafting committee for the Council so as to aid the formal incorporation of the organisation. Members appointed are Retired Chief Judge of the State, Godwin Abraham as Chairman, Retired Justice Ekerete Ebienyie, Chief Moses Essien and Amba Asuquo (Rtd AIG).

Obong Attah said what the Council means for Akwa Ibom State is that soon, the State is going to have an organisation that is recognized and vocal in the country and beyond.
He added ” We keep using that word stakeholders and abuse the meaning of it. The council counsels. This council will provide that counseling and this is very important for any community to move ahead.”

The Interim Chairman explained that although the Council’s rebirth is coming during a period of heightened political consciousness, the council is not reconstituted with political undertone.
“No, there is no political undertone. Even the politicians need the wise counsel of Elders. I would rather say that the Council is coming at the right time so that if there is any political rumbling, the Elders will intervene,” he said.

See Also

Obong Attah pointed out that although the constitution drafting committee is still at work, membership of the council is made up of all former Governors and their Deputies, all former Ministers, all former Senators, all former Ambassadors, all former Secretaries to Government, all former Vice Chancellors, all retired State Chief Judges and all retired Judges of the State, Federal, Appellate and Supreme Courts.

Other eligible council members are former Commissioners who left office in the last 20 years, all retired Military Officers not below the rank of Colonel in the Army and their equivalent in the Navy and Air Force and all retired Police Officers not below the rank of Commissioners and their equivalent in the DSS, Customs, Immigration and Civil Defence.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :