Now Reading
Policy Alert CEO Gets Nomination into OGP National Steering Committee

Policy Alert CEO Gets Nomination into OGP National Steering Committee

CEO of Policy Alert, Tijah Bolton-Akpan

The Chief Executive Officer of Policy Alert, Tijah Bolton-Akpan, has been nominated to the third National Steering Committee (NSC III) of the Open Government Partnership (OGP) in Nigeria.

 This is contained in a Press Statement made available to newsmen Saturday by Policy Alert with a confirmation from the OGP National Secretariat in Abuja.

The OGP is a global initiative that promotes transparency, citizen participation, and accountability in government. 

Nigeria joined the OGP in July 2016 as the 70th member country. The NSC, drawn from an equal number of government and non-state actors, is responsible for formulating policies, overseeing the OGP’s operations, and providing guidance and direction to its members. 

According to the statement, Bolton-Akpan brings to the OGP National Steering Committee over twenty years of local and international experience in programme management and consulting roles in the development sector, spanning fund raising, organisational development, social research, policy analysis, and advocacy. In this new role, he will help guide efforts to implement Nigeria’s Third OGP National Action Plan (NAPIII).

Quoting Bolton-Akpan’s reaction, the statement noted “I am especially thrilled and humbled at this call to service, especially at this momentous period when critical reform initiatives at all levels are happening at the same time with serious threats to civic space.

” Moving forward despite these challenges will require innovation, courage, and a commitment to continuous learning and I excitedly look forward to working with my colleagues on the Committee to up the ante on the quality of engagement on urgent reforms that can make a real difference in the lives of citizens.”

See Also

Meanwhile, according to a statement from the OGP National Secretariat, others who also made the list are Ms. Faith Nwadishi of the Centre for Transparency Advocacy (CTA), Tijani Abdulkareem of Socio-Economic Development and Research Centre (SERDEC), Olanrewaju Suraj of HEDA Resource Centre and Oke Epia, Executive Director of Order Paper. The statement also listed Mr. Yakubu Maikyau, National Chairman of Nigeria Bar Association (NBA) and Mr. Soji Apampa of The Integrity Organisation as new members joining the NSC. 

They will be joining Ms. Obialunanma Nnaobi-Ayodele of Meluibe Foundation, Mr. Eze Onyekpere of Centre for Social Justice, and Dr Tayo Aduloju, COO of Nigeria Economic Summit Group (NESG) who are returning members of the Committee.

Since 2018, Policy Alert under Bolton-Akpan’s leadership has been Co-convener and Secretariat of the Niger Delta Open Government Observatory (NOGO), a collective action initiative to enhance OGP uptake and implementation by states and local governments in the Niger Delta.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :